bakingforthecure

Dense Chocolate Loaf Cake

In Chocolate, Desserts on September 17, 2008 at 10:00 am

I think that this picture says it all- a rich, dense, full of sweet chocolaty flavor- all in one cake. As you can see, this in not a sophisticated cake, it does not have the “clean” look, and even if you try really hard, you wont be able to cut it clean (or even cut whole pieces without crumbling, but maybe I`m just not so good at cutting cakes?) . What you get from this cake is mainly flavor and texture- not necessarily good looks.

This cake is perfect to serve with coffee or tea in the afternoon, or simply if you have a sweets craving (and willing to wait for the next day…).

As much as I liked the cake, I think it was very very sweet (and I love sweetness, but this was too much), I also think that a little bit of salt could really give the cake a kick.

Dense Chocolate Loaf Cake/ Nigella Lawson, How to be a domestic goddess (makes one  23 x 13 x 7cm loaf tin, 8-10 slices)

225 gr. soft unsalted butter

375 gr. dark muscovado sugar

2 large eggs, beaten

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

100 gr. best dark chocolate, melted

200 gr. plain flour

1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda

250 ml. boiling water

Use one 23 x 13 x 7cm loaf tin

Preheat the oven to 190C/gas mark 5.

Put in a baking sheet in case of sticky drips later, and grease and line the loaf tin. The lining is important as this is a very damp cake: use parchment, Bake-O-Glide or loaf-tin shaped paper case.

Cream the butter and sugar, either with a wooden spoon or with an electric hand-held mixer, then add the eggs and vanilla, beating in well. Next, fold in the melted and now slightly cooled chocolate, taking care to blend well but being careful not to overbeat. You want the ingredients combined: you don’t want a light airy mass. Then gently add the flour, to which you’ve added the bicarb, alternately spoon by spoon, with the boiling water until you have a smooth fairly liquid batter. Pour into the lined loaf pan.

Bake for 30 minutes. Turn the oven down to 170 degrees C./ gas mark 3 and continue to cook for another 15 minutes. The cake will still be a bit squidgy inside, so an inserted cake tester or skewer won’t come out completely clean.

Place the loaf pan on a rack, and leave to get completely cold before turning it out. (I often leave it for a day or so: like gingerbread, it improves.) Don’t worry if it sinks in the middle: indeed, it will do so because it’s such a dense and damp cake.

Naama
  1. Thanks for the information…I bookmarked your site, and I appreciate your time and effort to make your blog a success!

  2. This great photo made me drool. The cake looks delicious and moist – just as I love it. The sugar quantity indeed seems oddly high.

  3. Ooooh that photo is the most fantastic thing I’ve seen all day XD. Looking at that recipe I agree with you on the sugar front though, I’d probably reduce that by quite a bit if I gave it a go (200g would be more in keeping with the other quantities than nearly 400g!).

    So! Tempted!

  4. mmmm that looks so dense and chocolately…yummm

  5. I love this cake! I have made it a million times and LOVE it!

  6. Rachael: Thanks you! I really appreciate your comment!

    Miri: Thanks!

    Indigo: Thanks a lot! :) 200 gr. sounds just right, I`ll have to try it again.

    Sara: Thank you!

    My sweet & saucy: Nice to know :) with a few adjustments, maybe I will make it many more times :)

  7. That is one of the best looking chocolate cakes I’ve seen in awhile. I usually prefer brownies because of their density but this, I could do!

  8. this cake looks decadent, exactly what i’m looking for …do you think if i reduced the sugar amount drastically, i could add icing?? or is the cake too moist and icing would overdo it and make my friends OD on sugar?

    thanks!

  9. Hillary: Thank you very much! :)

    Lan: About the icing- I don`t think that the texture of this cake is suitable for icing, and I think it would be way too much for one cake.
    Thank you for your comment!

  10. thanks for the input. i will have to make this cake some other time time. :(

  11. [...] bookmarks tagged dense Dense Chocolate Loaf Cake saved by 3 others     Littledarkmagician54 bookmarked on 10/06/08 | [...]

  12. Hello,

    I’m not familiar with muscovado sugar. What kind of sugar is it and If I can’t get it what kind of sugar can I substitute it with?

  13. Reika: Hi! dark muscovado sugar is very dark brown sugar, very moist, and with strong molasses flavor.
    here`s a picture: http://www.dkimages.com/discover/DKIMAGES/Discover/Home/Food-and-Drink/Ingredients/Herbs-Spices-and-Flavourings/Sugars-and-Syrups/Muscovado-Sugar/Muscovado-Sugar-3.html

    If you don`t have it, you can use regular dark sugar. I used it, and
    turned out just fine.

  14. Thanks for the info! I might just use the regular dark sugar :-)

  15. Thanks so much for giving everyone a very breathtaking chance to read critical reviews from this web site. It is always very amazing plus packed with a good time for me personally and my office friends to search your website on the least 3 times in one week to study the fresh items you have. Of course, I am at all times contented with your gorgeous ideas you give. Some 4 facts in this posting are definitely the simplest I have ever had.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

