bakingforthecure

Millionaire’s Shortbread

In Chocolate, Desserts on October 11, 2008 at 5:00 am

I first had this little bars when I was in Durham, England, With my parents. We walked in this lovely city, and near the river we found this little pastry store that looked so welcoming, that we just had to get in. After some time, we finally bought two pieces of millionaire’s shortbread, and the flavors were just amazing- sweet yet salty, with melt in your mouth chocolate and a crisp base.

Well, it took me more than a year to try the recipe, but it was worth the wait, in spite of some little difficulties that popped in my way. I guess you all have these days that nothing is going the way it should, and everything is one big mess. So, the day that I made this recipe was a day like this: I burnt the bottom of the pan while making the caramel layer, then the caramel went lumpy, and my top record was putting the base and caramel in a shut oven (it took my 30 minutes to figure that out…), It certainly was not my day!

But, to my surprise, after all that mess, these turned out great! almost good as the ones that I had in Durham.

Millionaire’s Shortbread/ Fanny from Food Beam

for the base:
135 gr. flour
45 gr. dried coconut
100 gr. brown sugar
125 gr. butter, melted

for the caramel layer:
130 gr. golden syrup (I used light corn syrup)
125 gr. salted butter, melted
800 gr. sweetened condensed milk

for the chocolate layer:
185 gr. bittersweet chocolate
3 teaspoons cocoa butter (I used butter)

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees C. and line a 20cm x 30 cm pan with parchment paper.
Make the base by mixing the flour, coconut, sugar and melted butter. Spoon this mixture into the tin and press to make an even layer. Bake for 10 minutes and transfer to a wire rack.
Place the golden syrup, butter and concentrated milk in a large pan and cook over low heat for 7 minutes. The mixture should be thick and caramel-brown in color. Pour this over the base and bake for 20 minutes into the preheated oven. Allow to cool completely at room temperature, and then go on with the chocolate.
Melt the chocolate in a double boiler. Mix in the cocoa butter and pour over the caramel. Chill until set.
Cut into small squares, keep in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

Naama

  1. Those look delicious, and I love the addition of salted butter – it must make for a great combo with the sweet chocolate.

  2. These look amazing! I’m a big fan of caramel, so I’ll have to give these a try.

  3. these things look delicious, anything with bittersweet chocolate is a plus in my book :)

  4. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! these are my favourite bar treats ever! my grandma always made these and i have the recipe written down on a little card from when i was probably 7 years old. these “caramel fingers” can not be beat, it’s quite a nostalgic recipe for me. english baking is the best :)

  5. These bars are so very pretty! They look divine!

  6. Oh, these look and sound truly delicious! I saved it on my Delicious and will definitely give it a try! I’m sorry to hear about all the trouble you went through that day – but the most important thing is that those beauties turned out great :)

  7. ive never heard of this before. looks delicious though!!

  8. I have heard of these before, but never tried them. They look so good!!

  9. Chocolate Shavings: The salted butter does give this recipe a nice and quite unique falvor. In general, I usually prefer my sweets with a hint of salt.

    Lisaiscooking: Thanks! If you are a big fan of caramel, this is indeed just the recipe for you!

    Megan: Thanks!

    Holly may: If you have the time, I would be more than happy to get your recipe, Thnaks! :)

    Tami: What a nice comment! Thank you!

    Miri: They did turn out great, but all the things that could have gone wrong happened! I`m sure that you`ll love this recipe!

    Mysweetestday: Thanks!

    Deborah: Thanks! :) You should definitely try these, they are really good.

  10. [...] Millionaire’s Shortbread @ Baking for the [...]

  11. [...] Shortbread Millionaires Shortbread I first had this little bars when I was in Durham, England, With my parents. We walked in this [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

