bakingforthecure

Fudge Drops

In Chocolate, Desserts on November 3, 2008 at 8:19 pm

This is the best chocolate cookie recipe that I have ever tried. seriously. I can’t even try to describe the great flavor, let alone the great texture. Try to imagine- you take a bite and suddenly there`s a strong chocolate flavor with a slight hint of coffee, then, the texture- the cookie melts in your mouth, like a chocolate mousse. Have you succeed? if not, I urge you to try this recipe!

One thing tough, that did not turned out right is the look. This cookie is supposed to have a shiny coating with cracks, but mine don`t have any, so, maybe you`ll do better than I did.

Yes, I know I have sparkly blue nail polish. I am a teenager, and shocking nail polishes are a part of growing up (Right?), what can I say, it happens to the best of us. (but hey, at least it matches the backgrounds color).

Fudge Drops/ http://www.kingarthurflour.com (Yield: about 26 cookies without chips, 30 cookies with chips.)

8 ounces (225 gr.) bittersweet or semisweet chocolate
3 tablespoons (1 1/2 ounces, 40 gr.) butter
1 cup (7 1/4 ounces, 200 gr.) sugar
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon espresso powder
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup (4 1/4 ounces, 120 gr.) King Arthur Unbleached All-Purpose Flour (I used regular AP)
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup (6 ounces, 170 gr.) chocolate chips, optional


In a double boiler, or in the microwave, gently melt together the chocolate and butter. To avoid heating the chocolate too much and possibly burning it, the best method is to heat till the butter is melted and the chocolate has partially melted, then remove from the heat. Stir till all the chocolate melts.

In a separate bowl, beat together the sugar and eggs till they’re thoroughly combined. Add the hot melted chocolate, then stir in the remaining ingredients, including the chocolate chips, if you’re using them. Refrigerate the batter-like dough for 1 hour, to make it easier to handle.

Preheat the oven to 325°F (160 degrees C.). Lightly grease (or line with parchment) two baking sheets, three if you have them.

Drop the cookie dough by tablespoonfuls (about the size of a small ping pong ball) onto the prepared baking sheets. A tablespoon cookie scoop makes this task extremely simple. Leave about 2″ (5 cm.)between the dough balls, as they’ll spread as they bake.

Bake the cookies for 11 to 12 minutes, until their tops are shiny and cracked. They won’t crack until the very end, so keep a close eye on them; when they’re cracked all the way across the top surface, they’re just about done. The point is, you want these baked all the way through, but just barely; additional baking will make them crisp rather than chewy. Remove the cookies from the oven, and top each with a kiss-shaped chocolate, a nonpareil, or a bittersweet chocolate wafer, if desired. Wait 5 minutes, then transfer them to a rack to cool.

Naama

  1. hey! i just made these cookies last weekend. mine were shiny and crackly looking, but i discovered that my dough was fine to use without refrigerating it. good luck with the next time you bake these!

  2. now that’s my kind of cookie! Anything with “fudge” in the name definitely has my full attention. And I fully support the nail polish, it adds character to the photo :)

  3. Naama, these look great!
    I made them a few months ago, they indeed are very good! A week later I’ve tried these http://www.foodbeam.com/2008/07/08/on-aura-qua-se-cacher-sous-les-draps-brownies-like-cookies-en-ice-cream-sandwich-au-chocolat-et-a-la-banane/ and instantly fell in love. These are my new favorites, give them a shot, you won’t regret it :)

  4. Oh, and I forgot – the polish looks great! Blends so well with the background colors, at first I thought you did it on purpose, until I read otherwise :)

  5. Kimmie: I hope that it will work next time, I dont know what went wrong, since I followed the recipe closely. Maybe next time :)

    Megan: Fudge works on me to :) thanks.

    Miri: Thanks for the recipe! I think I made it brfore, and it was pretty good (and still, they did not crack, I have to find out the reason…).

  6. i *LOVE* the nail color :)

  7. Mm, I’ve made these a couple times using half bittersweet and half semi-sweet chocolate. Soooo yummy!

  8. Hi, thank you for using King Arthur Flour All-Purpose Flour-Joan, King Arthur Flour/baker

  9. Cracks or not, the cookies looka amazing. I like the shiny coating :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

