bakingforthecure

Jacques Torres’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

In Chocolate, cookies, Desserts on January 26, 2009 at 8:21 pm

chocolate chip

I wanted to make these recipe from the moment I saw it. I must say that this situation happens to me quite a lot; I see some recipe, and suddenly I must make it as soon as possible, no matter what.  As I said, this recipe was on my to do list for quite some time, and finally, I made it a few days ago.

I wont lie and say that this is the best mind blowing chocolate chip cookie recipe ever (though I was hoping to say that…), but this is a nice recipe, that makes nice cookies: crunchy on the outside, and chewy on the inside. My problem with the recipe was the slightly eggy taste that it had, though not something very noticeable, but still (and on that matter, are there any differences between the Martha’s recipe and the NY times recipe?).

I halved the recipe, since the  amount of cookies that come out of this recipe could feed a small village. Also, I used grams instead of ounces and pounds, the measurement are written brackets in case you should need it.

d7a9d795d7a7d795d79cd793-d7a6d799d7a4d7a1-1

Jacques Torres’s Secret Chocolate Chip Cookies/ www.marthastewart.com (Makes twenty-six 5-inch cookies or 8 1/2 dozen 1 1/4-inch cookies)

1  pound (445 gr.) unsalted butter

1 3/4 cups granulated sugar

2 1/4 cups packed light-brown sugar

4 large eggs

3 cups plus 2 tablespoons pastry flour

3 cups bread flour

1 tablespoon salt

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract

2 pounds  (905 gr.) Jacques Torres House (60 percent cocoa) Chocolate or other best-quality semisweet or bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped

Preheat oven to 350 degrees (175 degrees C). Line baking sheets with parchment paper or nonstick baking mats; set aside.

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together butter and sugars. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Reduce speed to low and add both flours, baking powder, baking soda, vanilla, and chocolate; mix until well combined.

Using a 4-ounce scoop for larger cookies or a 1-ounce scoop for smaller cookies, scoop cookie dough onto prepared baking sheets, about 2 inches apart. Bake until lightly browned, but still soft, about 20 minutes for larger cookies and about 15 minutes for smaller cookies. Cool slightly on baking sheets before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

d7a9d795d7a7d795d79cd793-d7a6d799d7a4d7a1-2

  1. i burnt the motor of my hand mixer while making the batter for these cookies but it was SO WORTH IT.

  2. [...] I have ever made; full of flavor and great texture. Unlike other cookies I have attempted, this recipe Nom Nom [...]

  3. I saw your chocolate chip cookies using coarse salt in the Bangkok Post. Tried a few times, lots of compliments from friends. They ate them fresh from oven. Wonder if the above receipe is the same as the one I have. It requies only two large eggs and less flour (Cake and Bread Flour). Not sure which receipe to follow. How to make the cookies more chewy ? Looking forward to your advice and many thanks.

  4. Bonjour,
    Je vous conseille de lire un site qui parle de mutuelle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

