bakingforthecure

Pizza

In Cheese, Main Dish on July 19, 2008 at 12:40 pm

I don’t know anybody who would say no to a freshly baked slice of pizza.

I know I can’t. One of my most memorable memories about my trip with my family to Scotland is related to pizza (and please, don’t ask me why). I think I was maybe 10 years old, and we went to the “all you can eat” buffet on Pizza Hut. I can clearly remember eating something like a tray and a half of pizza, in addition to the pasta and the salad (now that I think about it, who eats salads in Pizza Hut??). The pizza was pretty good, I think.

Well, although my eating habits have changed since I was ten, I still can eat 4 slices without blinking.

This pizza is really a good one, and the only thing that is somewhat difficult about this recipe is the time you have to wait until the pizza is ready.

The dough recipe is taken from a member of a food forum in Hebrew, and although it contains no sugar and oil, it is really really good pizza dough.

You can, of course, change the cheeses, and the toppings. The options are endless.

All the quantities are for 2 large pizzas

Dough/ Ex New Yorker from the Ynet food forum:

500 gr. Bread flour
1 1/2 cups + 2 tablespoons cold water (225 ml)
2 teaspoons salt (10 gr.)
2 teaspoons active dry yeast (10 gr.)

Make dough using a dough attachment in your mixer. Knead for 5 minutes, let it rest for 10. Knead again for 5 minutes, let rest, and knead again (total of 15 minutes kneading).
Let rise for two hours at room temperature, covered. The dough can also be kept in the refrigerator up to 48 hours, wrapped in a cling film.

Tomato sauce:

3 medium ripe tomatoes
Bunch of basil leaves
2 garlic cloves
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
4 tablespoons tomato paste

Crush the tomatoes, basil, garlic, and the dried oregano in a food processor, pour into a small pot, and bring to boil. Add the tomato space, stir until dissolved. Add salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste. Cook for 5 minutes.

Cheese:

200 gr. Fresh mozzarella cheese, sliced
100 gr. Gauda cheese, sliced

Optional toppings:
Sliced olives, basil leaves, roasted red bell peppers

To assemble the pizzas:
Preheat oven to highest temperature, place pizza baking stone.

Divide dough into 2 balls. Roll each ball to a 1/2 cm. thick round. Spread half of the tomato sauce, half of each cheese, and the topping of your choice.

Bake in the preheated oven, until the cheese begins to golden, and the bottom is crispy.

Naama

  1. This looks great! What is the crumb texture like? Is it dense like white bread, or more rustic with bigger air pockets and a crispy crust? I’ve been looking for the perfect pizza dough, hopefully this is it!

  2. Hi tim,
    I think the best way to describe the texture would be to say that it is something in the middle. Because I used regular white flour, it was more like white bread, but when I used bread flour it was more rustic, I also think that if you add gluten it will be even more on the rusic side.
    Anyway, I think you shuld give it a try :)

  3. Looks like great pizza. I remember the all-you-can-eat buffet at Pizza Hut… not terribly fondly, mind you!

Leave a Reply

