bakingforthecure

Cornbread

In Appetizers, Bread, Vegetarian on July 26, 2008 at 12:36 am

This is the first time that I’ve been making cornbread. I looked for a fairly simple recipe, which does not include cheeses, and all sorts of other things. I finally found this recipe at Epicurious, I omitted the jalapeños. It turned out a very nice cornbread, not too sweet, and with a nice crumbly texture.

If anybody has a good cornbread or corn muffin recipes, I will be more than happy to receive them!

Jalapeño corn bread/ epicurious.com

1 1/2 cups yellow cornmeal
1/2 cup all purpose flour
4 jalapeño chilies, seeded but not deveined, chopped (I omitted)
2 tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups buttermilk
2 eggs, beaten to blend
3 tablespoons butter, melted

Preheat oven to 425°F (312° c). Butter 8-inch square baking pan (I used 28 cm. long bread baking pan). Mix first 7 ingredients in large bowl. Mix buttermilk, eggs and butter in small bowl. Add to dry ingredients and stir until just mixed. Pour into prepared pan. Bake until firm to touch, about 30 minutes.

Naama
  1. You know I’ve never even tasted corn bread? Your looks delicious! I’m gonna have to try it sometime.

Leave a Reply

