bakingforthecure

Chocolate White Chocolate Chunk Cookies

In Chocolate, Desserts on August 4, 2008 at 7:24 pm

These cookies were made for my brother, and there is a reason why – Because of the fact that my brother (not Asaf, the other one) is going away for a trip that will go on for at least 6 months, and because he is my number one cookie consumer, and my number one food critic, I’ve decided to make him cookies twice a week. Don’t think that I make this because I’m a super nice sister (just ask Asaf…) but just because I do nothing all day (unless you are consider staring at the TV as an intellectual thing), and because I wont have anyone too make cookies for 6 months (anyone interested?).
If somebody is looking for a little sister that will make him cookies whenever he wishes, just let me know!

So, for the recipe part. This time, because all my dark chocolate was over (who the heck finishes 3 kilos of chocolate in two months?!), I was looking for a cookie recipe with white chocolate, and this is the recipe that I found.
The cookies turned out OK, not very special, but good enough.

Oh, if anybody got great cookie recipe, please send it to me, I have 2 weeks to make 4 recipes, and I’m in desperate need for a brilliant cookie recipe.

And a little cookie tip to finish – if you want your white chocolate will stay white after baking, just divide the amount to two, put one part in the cookie batter, and bake the cookie as listed. About 2-3 minutes before the end of the baking, sprinkle the cookies with the leftover chocolate, and continue to bake until cookies are done.

Chocolate White Chocolate Chunk Cookies /Barefoot Contessa by Ina Garten (taken from foodnetwork.com) (makes 40-48 cookies).

225 gr. (1/2 pound) unsalted butter at room temperature
1 cup light brown sugar, packed
1 cup granulated sugar
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
2 extra-large eggs at room temperature
2/3 cup good unsweetened cocoa
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon kosher salt
680 gr. (1 1/2 pounds) good white chocolate, coarsely chopped (I used about 200 gr.)

Preheat the oven to 175 degrees c (350 degrees f.).
Cream the butter and both sugars until light and fluffy in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Add the vanilla, then the eggs, 1 at a time, and mix well. Add the cocoa and mix again. Sift together the flour, baking soda, and salt and add to the chocolate with the mixer on low speed until just combined. Fold in the chopped white chocolate.
Drop the dough on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, using a 1 3/4-inch ice cream scoop or a rounded tablespoon. Dampen your hands and flatten the dough slightly. Bake for exactly 15 minutes (the cookies will seem underdone). Remove from the oven and let cool slightly on the pan, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Naama

  1. Beautiful cookies :)

    Thank you for visiting my website and leaving such a nice comment.
    I used to drink Yerba Mate before as well, back home, but then for years I did not see it until now… I had two cups already today :))))

    Have a wonderful day, Margot

  2. Your brother is so lucky (to have you bake for him, and also for going on a long trip)! The cookies look great, and I’ll be happy to adopt you as my little sister – you can bake for me whenever you want :)
    Have a great weekend!

  3. Coffee and Vanilla: thanks! your post did brought up old memories, so thank you! :)

    Miri: You can adopt me anytime you like!, since my brother is soon leaving, I will soon remain here with nobody to bake to. I`m becoming kind of despereate, and asking all sort of random people if they want cakes and cookies…

  4. Naama, these look delicious and your brother is very lucky to have you as his sister :)
    hmm… as for cookies I pretty much like them all, but I’m a bit partial to big chunky oatmeal cookies (with dried cherries instead of raisins). Another one of my favorites is called Ghraybe and it’s a powdery white semolina cookie flavored with orange blossom water.

Leave a Reply

