bakingforthecure

Neiman Marcus Chocolate Chip Cookies

In Chocolate, Desserts on September 20, 2008 at 1:22 pm

This is supposed to be quite famous chocolate chip cookies recipe, I think. I was looking for a chocolate chip cookie that contains light brown sugar, and I fund this one.

The cookies looked a bit different from other recipes as they came out of the oven- they were more plumpy, and not quite flat as the others . Besides their looks, their taste was good and not too sweet. Actually, they were very delicate. Overall, this is a good recipe, and not a complicated one.

I don`t remember if I wrote it before, but there is a nice trick for making the cookies look “richer”, and it applies to all the cookies that have supplements (like chocolate chip and nuts)- after done making the cookie dough, put only half of the  supplements amount in the batter. after placing the cookie on the pan, sprinkle with what is left from the supplements and bake. By making this, you will get a richer looking cookies, and certainly more impressive looking ones.

Neiman Marcus Chocolate Chip Cookies/ neimanmarcus.com (makes about 24 cookies)

115 gr. (1/2 cup)  butter, softened

1 cup light brown sugar

3 tablespoons granulated sugar

1 large egg

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 3/4 cups all purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

11/2 teaspoons instant espresso coffee powder

1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 150 degrees C.

Cream the butter with the sugars using an electric mixer on medium speed until fluffy (approximately 30 seconds). Beat in the egg and the vanilla extract for another 30 seconds.

In a mixing bowl, sift together the dry ingredients and beat into the butter mixture at low speed for about 15 seconds. Stir in the espresso coffee powder and chocolate chips.

Using a 30 gr. scoop or a 2 tablespoon measure, drop cookie dough onto a greased cookie sheet about 3 inches apart. Gently press down on the dough with the back of a spoon to spread out into a 5 cm. circle. Bake for about 20 minutes or until nicely browned around the edges. Bake a little longer for a crispier cookie.

Naama

  1. i am going to have to try this recipe! those cookies look absolutely delicious. i think they might be the prettiest cookies i’ve seen-perfectly placed chocolate chips!!

  2. I’ve always wondered how good these cookies were, as I’ve seen the recipe many times, but have never tried it. Interesting about their delicate texture. I’ll have to give them a try for sure now.

  3. Wow Naama, those cookies look perfect! The chocolate chips are so luscious, I can’t stop staring at this wonderful photo!

  4. Megan: Thank you so much for your nice comment! :)

    Carolyn Jung: The cookies are indeed quite delicate, and also a bit chewy. It is really a nice recipe, so you should give it try.

    Miri: What a nice comment! thank you very very much!

  5. This recipe is not the “famous” recipe. The “famous” Neiman Marcus cookies are the ones from an email circulated story about a customer who asked for the recipe and was charged $250.00 rather than $2.50 when they were told it would be “two fifty” for the recipe. They made the recipe public as revenge. That story is made up though.

    Neiman Marcus eventually came up with a cookie recipe in response (they didn’t sell cookies when that email started going around). Which is the one you are using.

    Personally, I prefer the “famous”/fake recipe actually.

    • I have that fake recipe but I never tried it…not yet at least :D
      but since you prefer it, then I will try it soon :]

  6. Blah: Thank you for your comment. I actually know this story, and by saying that these cookies are famous I did not intend those 250$ cookies, but the chocolate chip ones.
    In the future, I hope that you will be kind enough not to comment under the name “blah”, but under some other name. Thanks.

  7. These are awesome! I only had regular coffee, so we just ground it up really fine. I will put more grounds in next time, I think I underdid it. The raw dough just bowled me over. It is the best raw dough I have ever had. A note- I love raw cookie dough. Its amazing I ever actually COOK cookies. That’s where my husband comes in. Anyway, I’ve bookmarked this recipe, thanks for sharing!

  8. I am so glad that you enjoyed making (and eating) the cookies!
    I also enjoy eating raw cookie dough, but the thing that I love the most is eating raw brownies batter (you should try it, you don`t believe how good it taste!).

  9. […] Neiman Marcus Chocolate Chip Cookies at Baking for the […]

  10. The cookies picture looks delicious. And the chocolate chips around it made the cookies looks more delicious and right now I can’t help but crave for chocolate chip cookies. I think the recipe is easy to do so I’ll try to bake my own version once I got time. I am not into baking but thanks to the tip you gave us in making the cookies look “richer,” well I hope the trick you gave will work on my cookies too. And if I succeed, I might consider it as gift for my friends this coming Christmas.

Leave a comment