bakingforthecure

No Bake Cheesecake topped with Strawberries

In Cakes, Cheese, Desserts on January 8, 2009 at 9:50 pm

strawberry

The strawberries season has officially started here, though this cake was not the perfect way to start it. You could probably hear from my tone that this cake was not the greatest hit. Don`t get me wrong here, it was tasty, but it didn`t have that extra something, that makes a good cake wonderful.

I`m guessing that this cake may not be practical for those of you who live outside of Israel, since this cake is made with soft white cheese (or as we call it- “Gvina Levana”, simply meaning- white cheese). This cheese has low fat percentage, and is relatively light in texture. If you happen to know the exact name of this cheese in the US, please let me know.

If you are planning of making this one, I have two tips to make it better. First, use less gelatin the suggested in the recipe, I found that the cake was too firm. I would probably use about one envelope of gelatin instead of one and a half. The second tip is to add a bit more flavor to the filling, I used vanilla bean, but you could put some good vanilla extract or even lemon zest.

d79ed795d7a1-d7aad795d7aad799d79d-21

No Bake Cheesecake topped with Strawberries/ Karin Goren, The Kitchen Helper- Desserts (makes one 26 cm. diamatr cake)

Crust:

200 gr.  digestive biscuits, crushed

70 gr. melted butter

Filling:

500 gr. soft white cheese (5%-9% fat)

1\2 cup (100 gr.) sugar

2 packs (500 ml.) heavy whipping cream

1 1\2 envelopes (21 gr.) gelatin powder

1\2 cup (120 ml.) water

Topping:

strawberries

Make the crust:

Start by preparing a 26 cm, diameter cake pan. For these kind of cakes, I usually line the pan with parchment paper.

Combine crushed biscuits and butter, Put the mixture into the baking tin and spread it evenly, press it down in the tin to form the base.

Make the filling:

Combine the cheese and the sugar, until the sugar dissolves.

Whip the cream until thickens. Store in the fridge.

Spread the gelatin over the water, in a small bowl. Wait 2 minutes, then put the mixture in the microwave for about 10-15 seconds, or until the the gelatin dissolves in the water. Add the gelatin mixture to the cheese mixture, and mix until combined.

Fold the whipped cream into the cheese mixture, just until the mixture is combined. Pour the mixture on top of the base, and chill in the fridge, covered, for at least 4 hours.

To assemble:

Cut strawberries, arrange them on top of the cake as you wish.

strawberry

  1. Those strawberries look absolutely gorgeous!!
    out of curiosity, what does the name of your blog mean?

  2. Great pic.
    Try adding valilla, lemon zest or orange zest next time… or mabe orange blossom water? honey?
    strawberries in January??? when i was a kid i think it was in the aviv, Peasch :)

  3. Tony: Thanks! I honastly don`t have a good answer about that, It simply came up when my brother and I thought about names for the blog, and did noy find anything better…

    Nurit: Great ideas, thanks! I`m not sure abot the orange blossom. but orange zest is a great idea!
    I also think that January is early. Since my birthday is in april, I was use to getting the first strwaberry cake only then.I guess that now everything is moving faster, since I saw the first (and very overpriced) strawberris early in December.

  4. Great looking no bake cheesecake!

  5. Your cheesecake looks fantastic! I love all of the strawberries!

  6. […] un commento » “The strawberries season has officially started”. Cosi dice “Baking For The Cure” un simpatico blog di cucina israeliano in un suo post del gennaio dell’anno scorso. Giusto, è […]

Leave a comment